Reading through the various blogs this week, a sort of theme managed to emerge, and it was something I was thinking about anyway.

It’s the idea of a writer’s platform.

Anyone out there groaning yet? It seems like the sort of thing that would be groan worthy if you were going to groan about something. Kristen Lamb went straight for it this week on why we need a platform.

It seems like something that gets said a lot, and so it’s easy to lose the message, but what I’m taking from it is that you need to know what makes you stand out. Which, to me, means that you need to first know why you’re doing what you’re doing, and then you’ll be able to figure out what makes you different from other writers and bloggers.

This is something it’s good to do anyway as far as I’m concerned. With all the blogs and writing advice floating around, it’s easy to get lost in what you think you should do rather than finding the fit that’s best for you. I know I get a little anxious sometimes when I think of all the ways I don’t measure up to all the people whose tweets and blogs I follow.

Of course, another issue I’ve noticed while perusing is that a lot of blogs start to sound the same after a while. Jody Headlund tackled that issue this week with her own entry on how to avoid becoming just another writer’s blog.

Jane Friedman also had a good entry on how you don’t have to blog, tweet, or be on Facebook. She links to others who have found unique ways to connect to people. It’s another good reminder that the same formula isn’t the best fit for everyone which is why I think it’s important to ask yourself why and be honest about what you like to do.

After reading Friedman’s article,  I accidentally happened across this one on interesting social network connections. Some good links and good ideas on ways we can connect. And look, a Linked in group! So there are writers on Linked-in.

A couple other links I thought were interesting (and by that I mean one is freakin’ hilarious.)

Being a true storyteller involves being a puppetmaster. I’m sure we’re all aware of this, but still highly entertaining.

Heater Syndrome in writing. Actually a neat little trick to try out.

