A friend and I were talking on the phone this morning (first sign of trouble with me) and she said, “You have such a way with words. You’re so eloquent.”

Blog post over. ๐Ÿ˜€

Okay, so there’s more to it. It wasn’t just a compliment about me and my writing or speaking ability. She was venting her frustration at her inability to express herself in words easily. So while I took a guilty pleasure for half a second at her compliment, it did start the gerbil in my brain who’s been napping all weekend.

I know a lot of people look at writing as some exclusive club. Not just writers, but readers too. I know people who write and refuse to acknoledge that they’re writers. People want and need proof that you are a writer and you can write. It doesn’t always have to be publication, though that’s the most easily identifiable way to know who is and isn’t part of the club.

But we all speak in words. Anyone who is online uses words. We are all communicators, and writing is a big part of that. Here’s the thing– it takes practice.

Yes, some people are born with a way with words. Some people can just spit out these amazing jeweled sentences without much thought, with no need to have studied. And some have studied very long and very hard to spit out their own polished gems that make a person like me ache with a deep wish to be that awesome and amazing.

And I’m not. But that doesn’t mean that what I can do is any less than what others can do. This is what I wanted to tell my friend. This is what I hope I basically told her. (I do have the memory of a goldfish.)

It takes practice, and most importantly, a knowledge of my own weak spots. In life and in writing, I have found this to be true.

Personality wise, my weak spots include a propensity to jump to conclusions, a constant jealousy of people who I imagine live life so easily and normally, issues with listening comprehension, and an ability to fly off the handle. I’m not sure why my close loved ones put up with me really. There’s more, but these were the first to jump into my head.

Writing wise, my weak spots are setting, descriptions, over confidence, dialogue, sentences. It’s probably easier for me to name what I am strong at, but that’s not really the point of this post.

The point is honesty. Looking directly at our issues rather than shying away from them. Some of the best strengths are also weaknesses. Likewise, some of our weakneses can also be made into great strengths with practice.

What are some of your weakensses? Do you look at them directly or shy away from them?

