So while catching up last night, I came across this article. It features an interview with Joseph Robert Lewis talking about self publishing. Most notable to me was this part of the article:

But running active promotions isn’t the key to success, says Lewis. With any business, you need some sort of way to spread the news: word of mouth from an army of friends and family, elaborate advertising campaigns, Branson-esque stunts. Once you have the momentum going, though, promotions don’t do much for sales: Lewis says you may see a brief spike, but there’s very little measurable long-term game to be had from the fire-sale approach.

What does work, he says, is churning out quality work. “The best marketing you can do is to write another book,” says Lewis.

Wise words. I don’t know how well he’s doing (he never talks about numbers on his blog), but he seems to be doing well enough. There are plenty of people who know of Heirs of Mars. And he’s not on Twitter. He has a Facebook, but he seems to use it as often as the newsletter. So his “platform” is really built on his writing.

This is the same reason why Isaac Asimov is my inspiration.

The man was prolific. He wrote mostly fiction, but he’s also got a whole lot of non-fiction that he’s written too. As an adult, he just wrote. He married. He wrote. He had kids. He wrote more. He went on vacation. He wrote even more. That’s impressive. That’s what I want to do. Live life and in-between write a lot.

For all his writing, I don’t think he ever got everything written down that he wanted to write down.

His quote that makes me laugh? “If my doctor told me I had only six minutes to live, I wouldn’t brood. I’d type a little faster.”

I’ll let you in on my secret– yes another one. One my my fears (among many, I’m a naturally nervous person after all) is that I’ll die before I get everything written down. I have a lot to say and I don’t type nearly fast enough!

Out of curiosity, what inspires you to write?

