I went and saw Thor. I had a good time. It wasn’t super amazing, though I did fall in love with Chris Hemsworth as Thor a little bit. Mostly, we came away with a couple of good lines and one very good dare that neither of us, as responsible adults, will ever follow through on.

There was only one thing that bothered me about the movie, and that was the way the “romance” part of it was shoehorned in.

I don’t know a lot about Thor, so I can only guess that Jane and Thor are one of those “must have” couples like Cyclops and Phoenix and Wolverine are in an X-men movie. That is my only explanation for what occurs within the movie.

Spoiler alert. If you can call this a spoiler. I wouldn’t, but you know, you’ve been warned.

Jane, a perfectly good researcher who is only focused on her research (as many girl characters are when needing  to seem independent and not weak), falls for Thor in one day.

ONE day. Granted, he does turn out to be a god, but still. They never say love, but there’s supposed to be this connection that changes the two of them in one day. He becomes a better man to be king and she becomes a tiny bit more well rounded. In one day.

That irked me. There is nothing wrong with some romance. There’s nothing wrong with love and nothing wrong with it changing a person. But when it’s treated this way, I start to wonder if it wasn’t added in for a couple of reasons. Did they think this would appeal to the females? Did they think they had to because it’s something important to the Thor comic cannon?

Let me say that as a reader/watcher/listener, I find relationships important. Romance doesn’t always have to mean someone falls in love. Sometimes it’s just the beginning of a relationship. In this case, the movie would have been better if they’d only strongly shown the connection (minus the unrealistic kisses) that would keep her searching for him. Sometimes it’s a good idea to leave a little something left over for later. It’s also okay if a relationship never makes it to that kissing stage.

Writing in relationships is hard work, especially in a movie, I’m sure, considering how much must get edited. Plus considering the fact that the script they work on and the actual making the movie takes a lot longer than when I sit down to watch it in two hours. I guess that’s always a danger with anything we work on. It’s something we deal with for a lot longer than the reader has to, so while it makes sense in our heads because we’ve dealt with it for so long, it may not make sense once it is out there.

