Branding is an annoying word. Most writers have to find some way of then branding themselves. How do you do that? What do you do? Somehow you have to make it interesting, unique, and yet not too unique. People have to pick up on it and understand it and become interested in it.

And you know, I think a lot of the time a person’s brand is an accident. A person just goes into it thinking, “This is what I want to do because I would like to do it” and then they find their niche. Whether it’s sharing interesting articles, or basic how tos, or what not to do in a humorous and honest way.

This is something I admit I’ve thought about a lot. A brand is exactly what you need. It’s important. People need to see you and think of whatever it is you’re doing right away. A strong association means that a person is more likely to give you time and to listen.

But people are not created equally. Some are naturally more charismatic than others. They draw people easily with little effort. I’ve watched it happen a lot over my life. Personally, I am very friendly, but I know I’m not charismatic. People who take the time to get to know me like me, but I’m no stand out and I’m easily ignored. (On the plus side, this also means that I don’t get a lot of people who dislike me. Most people are middle of the road with me, either like or don’t really care.)

So it’s important to craft a brand with this truth in mind. I am a boring person. The things that are possibly most interesting about me are things that I won’t share right away though they do show up in my stories.

As I am now crafting my marketing stuff, the website, the fan page, etc., there is one element that I have left on the back burner– me.

I know they say that people want to hear from the author, but it you’re completely boring, people really *don’t* want to hear from you. If your bio is going to put them to sleep, then why make it front and center? I haven’t done anything interesting, I’m not super clever or smart or funny, and I have no credentials. The only thing I really have is a good strong story that I fully believe in.

I’d try and find someone else doing this, but I can’t think of any off the top of my head right now. Most people put their names front and center, and I don’t want to. I have a picture here or there (a horrible picture taken with my DS too– ick I need a new one) and I have a small bio that will appear in places I deem appropriate, but otherwise, I am standing behind my creation and letting it take front and center.

