I’m taking everything in steps because I know myself. Best not to rush things too much. Most “marketing” I’m going to do will be passive or on weekends. By passive, I mean links in signatures or profiles while I’m commenting on things that make me want to say something.

And on weekends, well, I’ve been making lists of book bloggers. If there is even the slightest chance they may be interested in the genre I’ve claimed, then I put them down. Right now my search is for readers interested in science fiction, fantasy, and literature. Preferably all three.

But the rest is all about feeling. I not only look at submission guidelines, but I also check out their reviews and what they have to say about themselves, and if I like that, then I make a note that I’d like to try submitting my book to them. So far, I’ve come across one blogger that I liked so much after reading her reviews, her guidelines, and an extra interview she had linked that I submitted before I was even done with my list (my list which was sort of a stalling tactic this entire weekend).

It is just like querying, and I admit I’ve never done that or wanted to do that. It’s kinda frightening. There’s distance between my book and I now, but it’s still a frightening prospect to offer up something I’ve made for judgement. I’m more of a live and let live type of person. I read and write for enjoyment. If you look at my Goodreads page, I like everything I read, but that’s just because I don’t read things I don’t like, and if I don’t like something I read, I won’t bother rating or commenting on it.

Of course, one problem with looking at book blogging sites and being a reader is that I keep running across more books to add to the TBR pile. Like geeze. It’s as bad as posting a link to something on Etsy. So my tip if you’re looking for book bloggers? Cover your eyes, and try to land directly on their submission page! Oh, also, I’ve started a book blogger twitter list if you’re interested. There will be more added to the list. Mostly people who are friendly to self-pubbed and indies.

