A year ago, I bought myself an eReader after much thinking and research. Let me just say that it has been the most awesome thing I ever did. If I had to get rid of all of my gadgets and keep one, I’d keep that one. (And the computer, but the computer doesn’t count as a gadget to me– it’s a necessity. :p )

Does that mean I’ve forsaken print books? Nope. I still love print books, but the fact of the matter is that I don’t have room in my one bedroom apartment for us and the kitties let alone for all the bookshelves I’d need to be satisfied. But my Kobo reader is honestly as good as print. It looks just like a page, and I can get books added onto it within minutes. For pure reading, it makes me quite happy. In the past year, I’ve actually been able to read even more than I had when I was only reading books. I’ve also found myself spending more money on books. (Which is perfect, because I have a little extra money to spend, and I’d like to spend it supporting artists.)

This also means that it was a year ago I looked into self publishing and decided that it was the path for me and Ruin. And here I am, a year later, and I have one novel out (in ebook form and print book form) and a companion novella. It’s been a pretty awesome year to date. Publishing is an emotional roller coaster, but in the end, I can look at what I’ve managed and be pretty happy about it. I’m only beginning here, and I have more to do. (And a lot more to write.)

 

Also, I sort of forgot to mention (okay, maybe I felt more like I was spamming my own blog), but The Two Brothers has been released. Check out the novella’s story page here for links on where to purchase. Or sign up for the new release newsletter and send me an email (loudquietgirl at gmail.com)  for a code to get this story for free from Smashwords (which comes in all formats). This offer expires January 16th, 2012.

 

I’d also like to take this time to just say thank you to everyone I’ve met since I began this venture, readers and authors. One can’t get far without support in some form. Happy holidays everyone, and happy new year. I’ll be back in 2012.

